MARSHALL PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Minutes of the Annual Meeting

August 29, 2016 Elementary School IMC

Board of Education Present: Cecil Chadwick, Bonnie Clayton, Debbie Frigo, Sandra Litang-Canon, John Lutz,

Michelle Voigts

Board of Education Absent: Jon Bunch

Administration Present: Bob Chady, Rich Peters, Brian Sniff, Barb Sramek, Becca Stein, Brian Sutton

The meeting was called to order by Debbie Frigo at 6:32 p.m.

Appointment of Chairperson

Bonnie Clayton nominated John Lutz to be the chairperson for the Annual Meeting. Krista Tweed seconded the motion. Approved on a unanimous voice vote.

Adoption of Annual Meeting Minutes

A motion to adopt the Annual Meeting Minutes from October 19, 2015 and waive the reading of those minutes was made by Frigo and seconded by Voigts. Approved on a unanimous voice vote.

Comments

John Lutz thanked community members for attending the Annual Meeting and for supporting the District by passing the operating referendum.

Barb Sramek highlighted the progress on goals and action steps previously adopted by the Board. A new strategic design will be introduced in the coming months, guiding future direction for the district.

New Business - none

Budget Discussion

There were no comments or questions from attendees on the Budget Presentation.

Resolutions The following resolutions were acted on:

School Board Salaries

I, Michelle Voigts, move for the adoption of the following resolution, seconded by Sandra Canon. Approved on a majority voice vote.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Education salaries remain the same as in the 2015-2016 school year:

President	\$1,533
Vice President	\$1,533
Clerk	\$1,358
Treasurer	\$1,358
Directors	\$1,191

Setting the Annual Meeting Date

I, Krista Tweed, move for the adoption of the following resolution, seconded by Debra Frigo. Approved on a unanimous voice vote.

BE IT RESOLVED by the electors of the Marshall School District to authorize the Board of Education to set the annual meeting date for next school year.

Tax for Operation and Debt Service

I, Debra Frigo, move for the adoption of the following resolution. Motion seconded by Michelle Voigts. Approved on a unanimous voice vote.

BE IT RESOLVED by the electors of the Marshall School District that a total tax be levied on all taxable property of the district for:

General Fund Expenditure \$ 3,260,147 Non-Referendum Debt Levy \$ 480,286 Debt Service Levy \$ 648,286 Fund 80 Community Service \$ 10,000

Legal Proceedings

I, Debra Frigo, move for the adoption of the following resolution, seconded by Krista Tweed. Approved on a unanimous voice vote.

BE IT RESOLVED by the electors of the Marshall School District that the Board of Education be authorized to provide for the prosecution or defense of proceedings in which the school has an interest.

School Lunch

I, Sandra Canon move for the adoption of the following resolution, seconded by Debra Frigo. Approved on a unanimous voice vote.

BE IT RESOLVED by the electors of the Marshall School District that the Board of Education be authorized to provide lunch for students.

School Board Members' Expenses

I, Michelle Voigts, move for the adoption of reimbursement of Board Members for actual and necessary expenses. Motion seconded by Cecil Chadwick. Approved on a unanimous voice vote.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board of Education Members be paid their actual and necessary expenses when traveling in the performance of duties as Board members, and reimbursement for any actual loss of earnings not to exceed \$25 per day when required by his/her duties as a Board Member to be absent from his/her regular employment.

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was made by Voigts and seconded by Canon. Approved on a unanimous voice vote. Meeting adjourned at 6:59 p.m.